Arbeitskreis MOS-Modelle und Parameterextraktion
MOS Modeling and Parameter Extraction Working Group
MOS-AK/GSA Workshop
March 16-18, 2012  India
MOS-AK:  Enabling Compact Modeling R&D Exchange
  In Collaboration with
 MOS-AK/GSA Workshop Sponsors

Platinium Sponsors
austriamicrosystems IBM
Gold Sponsors



Silver Sponsors



  Technical MOS-AK/GSA Program Promoters
EuroTraining IEEE EDS
IEEE EDS Chapter Delhi
The MOSIS Services
Technical Workshop Program
Venue: Jaypee Institute of Information Technology (JIIT),
A-10, Sector-62, Noida (U.P.), India
Phone: 0120-2400973-976, 2400987 

Technical Workshop Program

March 16, 2012: MOS-AK/India Workshop
Time Program
08:30-09:30 On-Site Registration
09:30-10:30 Inaugural Session and Launching of MOS-AK/GSA, India
Tea Break
11:00-13:30 Technical Session: I - Chair: Wladek Grabinski, MOS-AK/GSA
Surface Potential Based Modeling: HiSIM Compact Model Family
Mitiko Miura-Mattausch, Hiroshima University, Japan
Hardware Accelerated Interconnect Capacitance Extractor for VLSI Design
Narain D. Arora,  Silterra, Malaysia 
BSIM Models: From Multi-gate to the symmetric BSIM6 
Yogesh Chauhan, UC Berkeley, USA
Compact Model Application to Statistical Variability and Reliability Studies
Xing Zhou, NTU, Singapore
13:30-14:30 Lunch
MOS-AK/GSA Poster Session
15:00-15:15 Tea Break
15:15-17:45 Technical Session II - Chair: Rajamohan Varambally, ST Microelectronics, India
MOSFET Compact Modeling Extensions for Circuit Simulation: A perspective from Industry
Andre Juge (STM), France
Benchmarking of High Voltage (HV) MOS Transistor Models
Ehrenfried Seebacher, AMS,  Austria 
High Voltage (HV) MOSFET Technology Models & Applications
Vaidyanathan Subramanian, IBM, India
General Methodology to Develop Statistical Compact MOSFET Models for VLSI Circuit Simulation
Samar Saha, SuVolta, Inc., USA 
19:00 onward
Networking Dinner

March 17, 2012: MOS-AK/India Workshop
Time Program
09:30-11:30 Technical Session III - Chair: Narain Arora, Silterra, Malaysia
Verilog-A Compact Model Standardization
Wladek Grabinski,  MOS-AK/GSA, EU 
SPICE to QucsStudio via Qucs: An international attempt to develop a freely available GPL RF design, compact modeling, simulation, data processing and manufacturing development environment for engineers
Mike Brinson, London Metropolitan University, UK
An Automatic Parameter Extraction Procedure for an Explicit Surface Potential Based Compact Double Gate MOSFET model
Thomas Gneiting, ADMOS, Germany
Insights into the Design and Optimization of Tunnel-FET Devices and Circuits for Future Ultra Low Power Applications
V Ramgopal Rao, IIT Mumbai, India

11:30-11:45 Tea Break
11:45-13:35 Technical Session IV - Chair: Souvik Mahapatra, IIT Bombay
Surface Acoustic Wave Device/Sensor Modeling for SPICE Simulation
A.B.Bhattacharyya, JIIT Noida, India
Incorporation of Quantum Mechanical Effects in Compact Models of Bulk MOSFETs
Amitava Dasgupta, IIT Chennai, India
RF-SOI modeling RF front end modules
Tamilmani Ethirajan, IBM, India
13:35-14:35 Lunch
14:35-15:10 Technical Session IV - Chair: Souvik Mahapatra, IIT Bombay
indDG: A New Compact Model for Independent Double Gate Transistor
Shantanu Mahapatra, IISc, India

15:10-15:40 MOS-AK/GSA Poster Session
15:40-16:00 Tea Break
16:00-18:30 Technical Session V - Chair: Ehrenfried Seebacher, AMS, Austria
Transitioning from BSIM4 to BSIM6
Yogesh Chauhan, UC Berkeley, USA
Compact modeling of SOI Drain Extended MOSFET (DEMOS) including High-voltage and Floating Body Effects
M.Jagdesh Kumar, IIT Delhi, India
Compact Modeling: Graphene Transistors
Navakanta Bhat, IISC Bangalore, India
Performance Modeling, Parameter Extraction Technique and Statistical Modeling of Nano-scale CMOS Transistors for VLSI Circuit Simulation
Soumya Pandit, IRPE, Kolkata, India
18:30 onward
Valedictory Function

March 18, 2012: MOS-AK/India Tutorial
CMOS technology and SPICE Models
Dr. Narain Arora
, Silterra, Malaysia 
8.30 Introductory address
Prof. AB Bhattacharyya
9:00-10:30 MOS Transistors Models (1.5h)
Dr. Narain Arora, Silterra, Malaysia
Technology trend: ITRS road map, Cu, OPC, and technology design 
Overview of CMOS technology: Evolution of MOS Transistors
Sub-100-nm silicon technology and devices for chip design
Q & A
11:00-12:30 SPICE models for advanced CMOS chip design (1.5h)
Samar Saha, SuVolta, Inc., USA
Spice MOSFET models development
New MOS Models: Overview of HiSIM and PSP models
Q & A
14:00-17:00 Interconnect modeling (3.0h)
Dr. Narain Arora, Silterra, Malaysia
Overview of interconnect technology and technology trends
Cu interconnect
RLC model and extraction
Q & A

MOS-AK India Committee
Committee: International Advisory Committee:
  • A.B. Bhattacharyya, Emeritus Professor, JIIT, India (Chair)
  • S.C. Saxena, Vice Chancellor, JIIT, Noida (Host)
  • Ehrenfried Seebacher, austriamicrosystems AG, Austria (Co-Chair)  
  • Wladek Grabinski, MOS-AK (European Arrangements Co-Chair)
  • M.J. Zarabi, Chairman, Vice-President, Microelectronics Forum INAE New Delhi, India
  • K.D. Nayak, DRDO, New Delhi
  • Andre Juge, ST Microelectronics, France
  • Vinod Menzes, TI, India
  • Narain D Arora, Silterra, Malaysia
  • Vivek Sharma, ST Microelectronics, India
  • Ganesh Guruswamy, Freescale, India
  • Vipin Madangarli, IBM, India
  • Abhishek Dixit, IBM, India
  • Vijay Kumar Ivaturi, Wipro Limited, India
  • Jyotirmoy Daw, Mentor Graphics, Noida
  • Jaswinder Ahuja, Cadence, Noida
  • Pradip K Dutta, Synopsys, India & Chairman, ISA, India
  • Praveen Vishakantaiah, Intel, India
  • Juzer Vasi, IIT, Mumbai
  • Ramgopal Rao, IIT, Mumbai
  • Navkant Bhat, IISC, Bangaluru
  • S. Koul, IIT, Delhi 
  • Amitava Dasgupta, IIT, Madras
  • Y. Medury, JIIT, India
Organizing MOS-AK/GSA Committee:
  • A.B. Bhattacharyya, Emeritus Professor, JIIT, India (Chair)
  • S.C. Saxena, Vice Chancellor, JIIT, Noida (Host)
  • Ehrenfried Seebacher, austriamicrosystems AG, Austria (Co-Chair)  
  • Wladek Grabinski, MOS-AK (European Arrangements Co-Chair)
  • M.J. Zarabi, Chairman, Vice-President, Microelectronics Forum INAE New Delhi, India 
  • Varambally Rajamohan, ST Microelectronics, India 
  • Shantanu Mahapatra, IISc, India
  • Rajamohan Varambally, ST Microelectronics, Noida, India
  • Kulbhushan Misri, Freescale, Noida, India
  • M. Jagdesh Kumar, IIT Delhi, India 
  • Manoj Saxena, Delhi University, South Campus, New Delhi, India
Extended MOS-AK/GSA Committee:
  • Chelsea Boone, GSA Director of Research  
  • Wladek Grabinski, GMC Suisse; MOS-AK/GSA Group Manager
    MOS-AK/GSA North America:
  • Chair: Pekka Ojala, Exar Corporation
  • Geoffrey Coram, Analog Devices
  • Jamal Deen, U.McMaster
  • Roberto Tinti, Agilent EEsof Division
    MOS-AK/GSA South America:
  • Chair: Gilson I Wirth; UFRGS; Brazil
  • Carlos Galup-Montoro, UFSC; Brazil
  • Sergio Bampi, UFRGS, Brazil
  • Antonio Cerdeira Altuzarra, Cinvestav - IPN, Mexico
    MOS-AK/GSA Europe:
  • Chair: Ehrenfried Seebacher, austriamicrosystems AG
  • Alexander Petr, XFab
  • Benjamin Iniguez, URV 
  • James Victory, Sentinel-IC
    MOS-AK/GSA Asia/Pacific:
  • Chair: Goichi Yokomizo, STARC, Japan
  • Sadayuki Yoshitomi, Toshiba, Japan
  • A.B. Bhattacharyya, JIIT, India
  • Xing Zhou, NTU, Singapore
No.# 27386
update: Mar. 2012 (rev. F)
Contents subject to change 1999-2012 All rights reserved. WG
Graphics 2012 Oliver